PDA

View Full Version : I couldn't possibly be more sad with my oc setup...newb needs help

imtiedup
02-11-2007, 04:15 PM
I have never before had a nice computer system until just now. I always had to go the ultra budget route, so after months of saving I finally got my system up and running.

I thought I had a decent setup until I ran 3dmark06 and found out I have the slowest computer rated... ARRGGHHHH! HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE?

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/resultanalyzer.jsp?projectType=14&XLID=0&UID=7885302

Equipment list:
e6600 -hyper48 cooler
evga 680i
bfg8800gts
2gb corsair pc8500
1x raptor boot drive
vista64

After I got everything put together I took the box down to my local computer store and paid to have it overclocked. I have NEVER tried it before, and could not afford to break something doing it myself, remember months to save for this sytem.

It took the guy an afternoon and when I got the machine back I was very happy seeing how fast everything booted up. Seemed to be very fast, esp compared to my old system. That's when I ran 3dmark06 and the inevitable depression set in.

I can't imagine that I really do have a box this slow, but just in case something is wrong I'll post all my bios settings below. I have no idea which ones matter, and yes... I've read and read this forum, but for some reason it's all still rocket science to me.

I'm kinda hoping the experts here can chime in and give me a hand. I don't want to do anything 'to' extreme, as I can't afford to replace equipment. I just want this box to do my media center stuff and a lot of encoding from dv tape to dvd's. Video editing is a huge must for me, as it was 90% of the reason I bought it all.

anyhow...
here's my bios settings

cpu freq 3431.3
fsb 1525
cpu multiplier 9x

sli-ready memory is [expert]
fsb memory clock mode [linked]
fsb memory ratio 3:2
actual fsb 1525.0
actual mem ddr 1016.7

Memory timing:
tcl 5
trcd 5
trp 5
tras 15
command per clock 2t

Advanced Memory:
trrd 4
trc 28
twr 6