PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a pelted NB?

Spec3
05-21-2003, 09:13 PM
If anyone has pelted their NB could you please post some pics of how your setup looks and just give a short blurb as to how you atached it to the mobo and what type of coldplate you used.

I am just getting into using pelts so any help of any kinda would be great

Thanks
Steve

:toast:

Teus
05-21-2003, 09:46 PM
a 40Watt peltier is more then enough. most ppl watercool it offcourse, the waterblock attached with screws through the mainboard

NB - coldplate - pelt - (another coldplate?) - waterblock

it's mounted the same way as a regular NB waterblock, except you've got a coldplate and a peltier between it

google around for some examples ;)

arte
06-02-2003, 10:07 PM
i tought about it but skipped it when i realized that my NB (845E) only develops 5.8W heat and i only had an 80W pelt. - Simply to much ICE over the mobo.

I had plans on squezing an MCW50T on it, but i am to lazy.

Just make sure to have onough pessure on the pelt.

]JR[
06-02-2003, 11:56 PM
I would imagine a NF2 mobo generates more like 50watts of heat, and with a chip that big im pretty sure you could just stick the tec straight on the chip without a coldplate, which lets you use just about any NB waterblock.

Opp tecs his NB iirc ask him for some photos...

]JR[

Teus
06-03-2003, 01:27 AM
what's the fuss, just mount it like you would on a vidcard.
@arte: give the TEC 5volt, it'll be fine

arte
06-03-2003, 01:37 AM
Originally posted by ]JR[
I would imagine a NF2 mobo generates more like 50watts of heat,

50 WATTS??? An old P4 generates 50W........An 80W peltier isnt enough to cool 50 watts.

]JR[
06-03-2003, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by arte
50 WATTS??? An old P4 generates 50W........An 80W peltier isnt enough to cool 50 watts.

It is but the dT wouldnt be too good. But im pretty sure my estimate is about right for a vdd'd nf2 northbridge.

]JR[

arte
06-03-2003, 03:26 AM
thats alot...

rabeb25
06-03-2003, 09:12 AM