PDA

View Full Version : Unknown instability issues...



gallardo
02-02-2007, 11:48 PM
Hy, guys! I hope somebody here can help me cause I ran out of ideas on what's going on...

My current setup is something like this:
AMD Athlon64 3700+ San Diego
ASUS A8N SLI (non deluxe)
Crucial Ballistix PC3200 2x512MB
Antec Smartpower 450W
Leadtek 6800 vanilla

The main problem is that I can't get my ram to work at 2-2-2-5 1T stable. I've tried lowering the voltage, trying different latencies... the only way it's stable at DDR400 is at 3-7-7-15 2T at 3V :slapass:
If I drop the voltage or the latencies.... it's just not stable.

Another problem is that if I turn my psu down, then the next time I turn on the computer it will go into Bootlock and it says that no keyboard is found or something like that... and when that happens I have to reset the bios and remove the ram sticks (so it will recalculate the ram's latencies).

Yes, the ram sticks are in the blue slots and no, they're not overheating... they're bearly warm. I already have the latest version of the bios... I really don't know what more I can do. Any ideas?

nn_step
02-03-2007, 12:07 AM
try 2.5-2-2-5 @ 2.8v
also set the CPU to stock speed.
If I had to guess, you are dealing with ASUS' crap Bios

gallardo
02-03-2007, 12:27 AM
Like I said, if I lower the voltage or the latencies (even to 3-6-6-15), it's very unstable. The CPU is at stock speed (although it's a good chip and can do 250x11 at stock voltage).

Is there a possibility that there is an incompatibility between the mobo and the ram??

nn_step
02-03-2007, 12:48 AM
actually yes there is a definite possibility that it is entirely the fault of the mobo

v0dka
02-03-2007, 12:57 AM
Your memory probably just crapped out, memory can dio that you know. Just wont get stable at stock speeds anymore, bottom line is youre looking at an RMA.

gallardo
02-03-2007, 01:23 AM
Your memory probably just crapped out, memory can dio that you know. Just wont get stable at stock speeds anymore, bottom line is youre looking at an RMA.

Tested my memory on a DFI Lanparty SLI... 2-2-2-5 1T at 2.7V right after I put them in.... no problems at all!

nn_step
02-03-2007, 06:50 AM
Tested my memory on a DFI Lanparty SLI... 2-2-2-5 1T at 2.7V right after I put them in.... no problems at all!
try them at 2.5-2-2-5 @2.8v, then they should really crank ;)

gallardo
02-03-2007, 08:58 AM
Won't work. It won't take anything less than 3V.
What I've got now is 3-7-7-5 with the other timings at 11-16-4-2 (dunno exactly what those are :P ) and 2T. It won't work under any circumstances at 1T.

gallardo
02-06-2007, 01:33 AM
I've put a stick of simple ram (PQI) and it worked flawlessly at 400MHz 2,5-3-3-7 1T at 2,7V
Since my Crucial memory worked perfectly at 2-2-2-5 1T at 2,7V on a DFI board... I guess that settles it. ASUS SUX! But... I think I'll just get a different set of ram sticks... they're easier to replace than the board... :)

celemine1Gig
02-06-2007, 01:48 PM
It pretty sure is one of the subtimings (those that you can't adjust in the Asus BIOS) that causes this behaviour. It's most likely set much too agressive for the Crucials, which causes them to only work at very relaxed primary timings and high volts.
The only problem will be to find out what timing is the one of importance.

gallardo
02-07-2007, 01:35 AM
There's an idea! I haven't thought about that one... So... I get the A64 tweaker, but... can anyone give me some directions with all those timings? Can someone give me a list of timings for the Crucial Ballistix memories under A64 tweaker?