PDA

View Full Version : Happiness + Confidence = Poor Math Skills

nn_step
10-23-2006, 10:14 AM
http://www.livescience.com/othernews/061019_ap_math_happiness.html
Apperently depressed shy kids are better at math :rolleyes:

Revv23
10-23-2006, 10:21 AM
yeah i could have told you that from high school..

My feelings are its just about what you care about, you are hanging out with friends all the time math takes the backseat, if you have no friends, well what else are you going to do?

:p: then again im no doctor on it. :)

xpsentity
10-23-2006, 10:22 AM
Right. My girlfriend is the most social person I've ever met, and also a math major. Moving right along.. :rolleyes:

Sumanji
10-23-2006, 10:31 AM
Obviously there are going to be exceptions to the rule, it's not gonna be an absolute divine law is it :rolleyes:

Helmore
10-23-2006, 10:52 AM
yeah i could have told you that from high school..

My feelings are its just about what you care about, you are hanging out with friends all the time math takes the backseat, if you have no friends, well what else are you going to do?

:p: then again im no doctor on it. :)
Having almost no social life doesn't mean that you are going to do more on your math, you could also be hanging around on Xtremesystems, right? :stick:

Timmay
10-23-2006, 11:04 AM
LOL that is so true, in my first year of high school I was a quiet little guy and was good at math, as soon as I got to second/third year I gained confidence and a lot of friends and suddenly sucked at maths...

Quest_7F
10-23-2006, 11:06 AM
I agree with rev, i also wonder how much money went into this study

Shift
10-23-2006, 11:07 AM
Um so what does it mean when you have bad vocabulary skills? Because you spelled apparently wrong:p:

nn_step
10-23-2006, 11:11 AM
Um so what does it mean when you have bad vocabulary skills? Because you spelled apparently wrong:p:
that I'm not an english major :p:

thunderstruck!
10-23-2006, 11:16 AM