PDA

View Full Version : DDTUNG cracks 1million



-Acid-
10-03-2006, 05:53 PM
Way to crunch :woot:

1,008,636:fact:

:toast: :toast: :toast: :toast:

Mr_Slinky
10-03-2006, 06:00 PM
I am not surprised congratulations are in order victor

[XC] mysticmerlin
10-03-2006, 06:02 PM
As usual you will Own WCG @ XS and I am so thankful for it. Thanks Vic :toast:

[XC] hipno650
10-03-2006, 06:20 PM
nice man keep it up!!!!!

[XC] leviathan18
10-03-2006, 06:24 PM
i wish i could have victor farm for a week... congrats really

Movieman
10-03-2006, 06:28 PM
9 days on WCG and a million points..
Not too much has to be added to that..:D

Haltech
10-03-2006, 06:30 PM
About time you finally catch up to me victor!

Movieman
10-03-2006, 06:32 PM
About time you finally catch up to me victor!
:rofl:
I can harass you cause he blew by me just as fast as he blew by you!:D

rob725
10-03-2006, 09:44 PM
185K in a day and not at full tilt yet. :shock2:

[XC] serlv
10-03-2006, 10:02 PM
I don't know if the difference between Rosey and WCG is linear, but DDT was doing 10x what I was doing when he was at full tilt, in Rosetta. I may have increased power a touch, but we may see that or close to it when Victor gets cranked up fully.

nn_step
10-03-2006, 10:34 PM
Damn that is some serious cranking.

[cTx]Philosophy
10-03-2006, 10:36 PM
LOL he just got here and already this :P

I love it, I swear this is high quality stuff here..

This is with his mostly dual 64 setups correct?

Haltech
10-03-2006, 10:39 PM
Well just imagine if he turned all of those boxens into Kentsfields... It would be crazy!

[XC] serlv
10-03-2006, 11:06 PM
LOL he just got here and already this :P

I love it, I swear this is high quality stuff here..

This is with his mostly dual 64 setups correct?


I think there is more involved than just those, or even mostly those. He still has, as far as I know, quite a few dual Xeon boxes and all those office 3 Gig P4's etc. Probably a good mix of all. Wonder if he has been building anything new?

Victor? ...

DDTUNG
10-03-2006, 11:55 PM
I think there is more involved than just those, or even mostly those. He still has, as far as I know, quite a few dual Xeon boxes and all those office 3 Gig P4's etc. Probably a good mix of all. Wonder if he has been building anything new?

Victor? ...

I may put together a few Conroe systems next month. What's the most cost efficient cpu/mobo/ram combo available now, that allows decent overclocks?

DDTUNG:cool:

njkid32
10-04-2006, 12:15 AM
Well, it really depends on what you call decent:) I would say go with a Intel Bad Axe, a Conroe 6700 or save a few $ and get a 6600... As for mem I have been playing around with a decent set of G.skill 800's that really oc well. I'll have a review on them within a day or so:) If all else fails Fry's Electronics here in the US sell some pretty good cpu/mobo combos and I am sure someone here would be willing to help you out:)

Edit: The reason I recomend the 6600 or the 6700 is for the extra L2 cache... Or you could just get 2 kentsfields running with would equal 4 conroes:)

[cTx]Philosophy
10-04-2006, 12:24 AM
DS3 and 6400 will do 3.2+ easy as shi and below 400 per setup :)
I got a ds3 and a 6300, wish ida got something else now :0

P5B deluxe is also clocking pretty high, low multi high fsb is where its @..
Prob is only 2 sec super pi diff compared to 4m lvl 2 cache

njkid32
10-04-2006, 12:27 AM
DS3 and 6400 will do 3.2+ easy as shi and below 400 per setup :)
I got a ds3 and a 6300, wish ida got something else now :0

P5B deluxe is also clocking pretty high, low multi high fsb is where its @..
Prob is only 2 sec super pi diff compared to 4m lvl 2 cache

Sorry bud I'll have to disagree with you on this... I have had several of each and trust me the 4m L2 cache is faster at everything and much faster than a few sec. in 1m and 32m super pi's...

Movieman
10-04-2006, 12:27 AM
I may put together a few Conroe systems next month. What's the most cost efficient cpu/mobo/ram combo available now, that allows decent overclocks?

DDTUNG:cool:
NJKID hit it on the head..a 6600/bad axe combo is a killer cruncher.The 6700 is better, maybe 4000 on air versus the 6600's 3600 but also more $$.
That, a good aftermarket cooler, good DDR2-800 or 1000 ram and your cooking!
Look at it this way, the computational power of the conroes is a big step forward.
In SOB that is pure computational power, my DX3600 system would score app 8.3 million a day. Weedsqueezer had his 6600 at 3600 and was scoring 12 million a day. NJKID's Kents was doing 18 million a day.

rob725
10-04-2006, 12:31 AM
Itznfb was able to drive well over 400fsb on the gigabyte s3 using 6300 for a pretty nice value combo: about $300 in the US.

I'm crunching 24/7 with Asus p5b dlx/6300 at 495fsb, albeit open-air & cool room: about $380-390 US if you leave off wifi.

I'll second the gskill hz.

rob725
10-04-2006, 12:44 AM
Sorry bud I'll have to disagree with you on this... I have had several of each and trust me the 4m L2 cache is faster at everything and much faster than a few sec. in 1m and 32m super pi's...

My 6700 scores only a little better than the 6300. For my main rig, I like the 4mb cache, and for extreme overclocking, the higher multiples help a lot, but for building high-performance value crunchers, the allendales and 965 chipset are hard to beat.

njkid32
10-04-2006, 12:47 AM
Well everyone loves a great budget setup but when it comes to true crunching power hands down the 6600 and up takes the cake (or his case a piece of the pie)... My 6600 smoked my 6400 in Rosetta and in SoB.. Now my Kentsfield is a whole nother story;)

rob725
10-04-2006, 12:54 AM
Kentsfield is the REAL value cruncher! 4 oc'd cores and 1 set mb/psu/ram. I just can't find one. I'll have to wait with the rest. For sure on the other, 4MB cache is faster. Can't wait to put my 6600 in the mobo that lands tomorrow.

[cTx]Philosophy
10-04-2006, 01:00 AM
Im @ 462 fsb X 7 on my 6300, and hopefully ill be able to get my hands on a p5b deluxe soon, if funds will be onb my side ever again...

Ill say budget wise only this combo is hard to beat..

njkid32
10-04-2006, 01:02 AM
If I were to build a farm I would go with a few Kentsfields (not like I'm now:)).. In the long run it would save money.. But not budget if you look at the price of the cpu.. For me its worth the money in one rig as opposed to 4 rigs plus mobo, mem, psu and cases... Now if I were only going to build a few systems and wanted to keep a certain price then I would go with the 6600 with a bad axe or Asus i975...

Movieman
10-04-2006, 01:08 AM
Kentsfield 6700 is supposed to deput at $999.00 on November 13th according to the info I hear. If it does AND if it's as good as the 6700ES's we've seen then it is the way to go for output per physical space a system takes and thats an issue for Victor, at least it used to be.
They also generate a ton of heat that has to be dealt with.
I'd still go with the 6600's and the bad axe for output/cost

rob725
10-04-2006, 01:14 AM
That's why I want to phase one, so there goes the value, but here comes the Xtreme fun!

v0dka
10-04-2006, 03:32 AM
Well guys, GP-GPU is what were all waiting for. :fact:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=118091

Although this article may be a bit too optimistic as far as the predicted timeschedule goes it does shed some very interesting light on the (near) future. The influence of the GPU's incredible FPU power on computing cannot be underestimated and it is already available now on current X1900 cards with the right software as you all might know. AMD just definately believes in the coprocessor idea, I already thought this some time ago and the signs only keep getting stronger.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=111855

Anyway, I think Victor is gonna be running X1950xtx's in his office PC's. On phase ofcourse. :banana:

Uhm, are there any vacancies atm? :D