PDA

View Full Version : helping out a friend to stay away from TT

hoax
10-01-2006, 02:03 PM
Hello,

As some of you may know I am still working on picking my own parts, and I have little to no knowledge in liquid cooling so any advice will be very appreciated.

I am trying to help a brazilian friend with his first WC but he doesnt speak english and he asked me to post here to ask you guys for help on choosing the right parts for his budget (cant be more then 200 US). He was thinking about getting the TT Big Water 745. (really sorry for even mentioning TT here)

He thinks that TT with the triple rad would perform better then the following kit: (which I believe is within his price range)

(1) AquaXtreme MP-05 PRO Limited Edition Universal CPU Water Block - 1/2"
(1) Laing D5/Swiftech MCP655 Inline 12vDC Pump
(1) Swiftech MCR-220 "Quiet Power" Series Radiator - Black
(2) Yate Loon D12SM-12 120mm x 25mm Fans (70.5CFM, 33dBA)
(10') 7/16" ID (5/8" OD) Masterkleer Tubing
(1) 1/2" OD Polypropylene T-Fitting
(12) Stainless Steel Worm-Drive Hose Clamps
(1) Machined Delrin Fillport/T-Line Cap
(1 bottle) Pentosin g11

You guys have any suggestions to the list that could make it even cheaper but still a good performer?

He runs a Pentim 4 3.4 ghz 650 with no OC but maybe we can come up with a custom kit that would even give some room for overclocking and would still be in his price range?

any advice is really appreciated

thanks
hoax

SiGfever
10-01-2006, 02:12 PM
That setup looks good and the only thing he might want to consider is a 120.3 rad for future growth.

Alchemy1
10-01-2006, 02:29 PM
Looks good for the budget you are on. A thermochill rad would be better, but you'd blow half of your budget on the rad alone. If the budget is tight stick with what you have listed.

creidiki
10-01-2006, 02:37 PM
he's obviously wrong and should read up on watercooling before sinking money into TT crap.

Grinch
10-01-2006, 04:07 PM