PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Writing This is Java

BSill
09-19-2006, 10:05 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Java altogether and eager to learn it, mainly for my major. Ive purchased a book from amazon.com titled Java 5. In this book it explains in paragraph form how to code in Java but it does not show you what the program looks like in code, only states "try to do this and try to do that." If anybody knows JAVA can you please do these for me so I can actually see what the finished product looks like, thank you very much!

- Write an application program that prints your name and
your major in a box of stars on two separate lines. Example:

* NELI ZLATAREVA *
* Computer Science *

- Write an application program that prints AAAAAAA BBBBBBB
CCCCCCC in three different ways:

a) on one line
b) on three lines
c) inside a box made up of the characters * and =

- Write an application program that converts miles to
kilometers. 1 mile = 1.60935 kilometers. Read the miles value from
the user as a floating point value.

Magnj
09-19-2006, 10:24 PM
Dude, go to class next time instead of trying to get other people to do it at 2am the night before class.

bullet2urbrain
09-20-2006, 06:57 AM
your goign to want to use Print, println and scanner.

BSill
09-20-2006, 07:11 AM
Magnj it is nothing that has to be turned in, its a practice lab. Not graded so im not worried about figuring it out asap.

After reading more I found its alot like VB and c++ but variables have to be labeled. The comments thing just confused me why they say to put comments throughout the coding lines instead of just at the top.

eshbach
09-20-2006, 01:12 PM
Since I have nothing better to do, here is a very nice solution to all three problems:

public class BSillsClass
{
public static void main(String[] args)
{
doPartA();
doPartB();
doPartC();
}

private static void doPartA()
{
printRowOfChar('*', 20);
printWordInChar("NELI ZLATAREVA", '*', 20);
printWordInChar("Computer Science", '*', 20);
printRowOfChar('*', 20);