PDA

View Full Version : dual clovertown drop in upgrade Mac Pro !!!



Tenknics
09-12-2006, 04:07 AM
"We grabbed a pair of 2.4GHz Clovertown samples and tossed them in the system, and to our pleasure, they worked just fine. Our samples used a 1066MHz FSB, although we're expecting the final chip to use a 1333MHz FSB, but the most important part of the test is that all 8 cores were detected and functional.

We ran a handful of stability tests on the Mac Pro equipped with two Clovertowns and didn't encounter any crashes with the processors, so it would seem that Clovertown will work in the Mac Pro's motherboard. We can't say with 100% certainty that you will be able to upgrade to Clovertown when it comes out, but so far the results are looking good. "








Source: http://www.anandtech.com/mac/showdoc.aspx?i=2832&p=6

Pressure
09-12-2006, 04:30 AM
Read it earlier and was pleased to know :)

If only one could grab two for cheap (I know, wishfull thinking).

starbuck8968
09-19-2006, 10:04 PM
...

ugp
09-20-2006, 05:08 AM
Too bad I don't have the money for a Mac Pro. I would give my left arm if I could to have one.

Pressure
09-20-2006, 07:37 AM
If you are a student you can get the Mac Pro base model for $1999.

Magnj
09-20-2006, 08:13 AM
Damn, 2 grand is alot to drop on a system. I could maybe stomach the 600 for the mini but I guess the mini isn't a dual chip monster.

ugp
09-20-2006, 10:46 AM
Give it time and the Mini will be. The mini is a bad little machine though to.

I am going to eventually get a Mac Pro with either 2 23" Cinema monitors or 1 30" Cinema monitor. By the time I get one they will be even more uber powerful!

We will have Quad Quad Core 4.0 Intels! LoL That is how long it is going to be before I get one.

Pressure
09-20-2006, 02:57 PM
Actually comparing it to a similar Dell, the Mac Pro is cheaper.

Who wouldn't take the superior built quality and design of the Mac Pro over the equivalent Dell?

lowfat
09-20-2006, 03:05 PM
Now I just need a Mac Pro, too bad its a :banana::banana::banana::banana::banana: to take apart


Hard to take a part? Maybe the heatsinks, but the rest of the computer is the best computer I have ever worked on.

Pressure
09-20-2006, 03:08 PM
Hard to take a part? Maybe the heatsinks, but the rest of the computer is the best computer I have ever worked on.

What specifications does it have?

I could only ever afford the base model with Bluetooth, Airport Extreme and wireless keyboard and mouse (which sounds extremely silly when I have a MacBook Pro 2.16Ghz with 2GB of ram and AppleCare Protection Plan).

FB-DIMMs are just sodding expensive!

I reckon the new 24" iMac with the graphic card upgrade and 2GB of ram would be enough for the majority of people.

starbuck8968
09-20-2006, 11:46 PM
...

Pressure
09-21-2006, 02:11 AM
Yeah that's what I meant, I would swap out the woodcrests with my clovertowns. I hope it supports my 1333FSB clovertowns.

So you have Clowertowns and perhaps a few Kentsfields? :slobber:

ugp
09-21-2006, 05:40 AM
I wouldn't mind having an iMac either.

Pressure
09-21-2006, 08:09 AM
Yeah that's what I meant, I would swap out the woodcrests with my clovertowns. I hope it supports my 1333FSB clovertowns.

Since the current Woodcrest processors used in the Mac Pro already utilizes a 1333Mhz Front Side Bus, I cannot see why it wouldn't support you Clowertowns.

lowfat
09-21-2006, 09:45 AM
Give it time and the Mini will be. The mini is a bad little machine though to.



Is there plans for a quad-core S479 CPU? If not I don't think the mini will be seeing 4 cores anytime soon.

Hopefully they'll come with Meroms at least next time they do a revamp.

lowfat
09-21-2006, 09:47 AM
Since the current Woodcrest processors used in the Mac Pro already utilizes a 1333Mhz Front Side Bus, I cannot see why it wouldn't support you Clowertowns.


Aren't the 2.0GHz Woodcrests a 1066FSB CPU? Hmmmm. I wonder if its possible to pin-mod them on the Mac Pro...

starbuck8968
09-21-2006, 10:11 AM
...

Pressure
09-21-2006, 01:33 PM
Yes to both :)


I'm sure it will, all the standard woodcrest/blackford boards I've tried worked with it just fine with their latest BIOSes. IMO you need 1333FSB to take full advantage of Clovertowns, 1066 gives huge bottleneck for highly threaded apps.

Nice.

Although you could play with BSEL settings and force it to boot at 1333Mhz strap. So the 2.40Ghz Clovertowns should be able to run at 9x333Mhz.

Not sure, don't have any of it myself though...just a random thought.

So <cough> feel like departing of one of those Kentsfields? ;)

starbuck8968
09-21-2006, 10:58 PM
...

Pressure
09-22-2006, 04:04 AM
ygpm
good luck with that, its going to be rather toasty no doubt


Aye, read and returned ;)

Regardless, the Kentsfield would be going under my Vapochill so it should be, ehm, chilly :D