PDA

View Full Version : LGA Processor Heat Spreader Removal

Silver Bullet
08-09-2006, 06:05 AM
This doesn't look like it's going to be possible for most people and I think we can all put this one to bed.

Link: Vr-zone (http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=3878&s=1)

http://resources.vr-zone.com.sg/Shamino/ihsremoval/5.jpg
(chip is solder to the HS.. so it's not coming off easy, here the core is stuck to the HS and has come off the chip.

The author did get one on the second try, but he still has to test to see if its going to work. Personally, I’m not going to be risking my shiny new C2D to such a risky process for a couple more Mhz :rolleyes:

Shpoon
08-09-2006, 06:08 AM
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?p=1638638#post1638638

He beat you to it ;)

And ya, as of now, all he did was ruin 2 chips.

trojan
08-09-2006, 06:11 AM
Good thing it's not an option imo, managed to pretty much destroy my opty doing that. I am a noob though. :D

[XC]melymel
08-09-2006, 06:19 AM
As shamino said in the article though he was trying to lift the IHS off and so would be endangering the core if the solder wasn't fully melted, his idea of sliding it off next time seems much more sensible. I'm tempted to try it but If i were to destroy an x6800 (or any cpu) doing it I would end up crying so simply lapping it will be fine for me, for now....

This doesn't look like it's going to be possible for most people and I think we can all put this one to bed.

I think plenty of people will be able to do it, it's just going to require a few people to test and find the best method so as to get a greater success rate and lure more people into trying it, but to type a line like the one I just quoted is very un-Xtreme. :slap: :p:

:toast:

Btrice
08-09-2006, 06:37 AM
I don't know much about how these processors are set up (in terms of space between the ihs and core which is filled with solder, and max allowable temps) but this might be an idea that could work: