PDA

View Full Version : 1GBx2 PC4000 GSkill HZ Results



Justintoxicated
08-08-2006, 03:35 PM
Well I sold my OCZ PC3200 C2 because it did not want to go anything above DDR400 Speeds.

As recomended on several forums I picked up the GSkill HZ PC4000

I have been playing with this mem for hours on my expert and it seems that it will only run at it's rated speed of 500 FSB at 3,4,4,8.

If I change any timing or raise the FSB at all I get errors. I also tried to run it at DDR400 2,3,3,6 and it fails instantly in memtest86.

My 3d mark score has gone down since I sold the OCZ memory.

So far this memory is a downgrade according to 3dmark, and I have wasted hour and hours of my time as well as money and computer downtime.
I must be doing something wrong but this memory only wants to run at it's default speeds. I tried it at DDR450 2.5 , 4, 4, 8 and it fails memtest as well.
Raising or lowering the voltage does not seem to make much difference with this crappy memory....

Can I get some help or advice from others? Should I sell this memory now as well and try to get my old OCZ PC3200 C2 back?

jimmyz
08-08-2006, 03:40 PM
go run this by the gskill tech he has his own forum here. i'm sure he can help

Raybo
08-08-2006, 05:32 PM
What other parameters are you using?

Can you give all your ram particulars?

:shrug:

Justintoxicated
08-08-2006, 06:17 PM
Can anyone help here? I have not been able to run this memory at any setting other than default.

It does not seem to want to run C2 at any speed, and I can't even get 225MHZ stable at C2.5, 4, 4, 8, and 200MHZ C2, 3, 3, 6 will not even boot into memtest86.

Changing the voltage does not seem to make much of a difference.

I was getting the same results in 3D mark, actualy slightly more running
OCZ PC3200 C2,2,2,5 @ 200FSB than I am now with GSkill PC4000 C3, 4, 4, 8


http://members.cox.net/justintoxicated/CompNew/GSkill_PC4000.jpg
http://members.cox.net/justintoxicated/CompNew/Opteron2700.jpg
http://members.cox.net/justintoxicated/CompNew/CBID.jpg


Any Help Tweeking this stuff is appreciated, I should have listened to NN_Step and ordered the HV instead at this point. I just had back luck with infineon chips the last time around and read about a 3D bug with them. But if I'm stuck at the stock speed of these....

Threads merged - bachus_anonym

Justintoxicated
08-09-2006, 06:14 PM
Any Ideas? I'd like to either lower the timings or step up the FSB some but it does not seem to like any of the timings I set it to other than stock. I must be doing something wrong?

bachus_anonym
08-09-2006, 06:35 PM
G.Skill HZ (Samsung UCCC in general) will not do anything tighter than 6-3-3-2.5, and that is only with good pair, below 250MHz and probably not less than 2.7v. If I were you, I would stay @ 8-4-4-4.0 or 8-3-4-3.0 as those are the latencies UCCC can clock relatively higher at. Depending on week, they can overclock better or worse, so keep that in mind as well, please.

Download either A64Info (http://avala.yubc.net/~lukija/A64Info-beta.exe) by lukja and show what timmings and other memory setting you're at, please. What mainboard are you on?

After that step and showing us your settings with A64Info, isolate RAM first, by not running any divider. Going with a divider will require adjusting Max Async Latency and ReadPreamble in BIOS but you should be OK by starting safe @ 8ns/6ns or 9ns/6ns respectively. Also, leave Drive and Data Strengths at AUTO/AUTO for now, please.

Coyote
08-12-2006, 01:53 PM
mines are running at 250mhz 3-4-4-8 at 2.6v and no issues so far. really nice 2x1gb pair.

im running on a dfi nf4 ultra-d with 623-3 bios.

maybe this will be of some use for you justin.
http://img234.imageshack.us/img234/8881/gskillcs8.th.jpg (http://img234.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gskillcs8.jpg)

actually if someone would be nice enough to recomend me some tighter settings it would be nice. so far im in auto on memory settings.

GSKILL TECH
08-14-2006, 04:07 PM
with expert motherboard please remember set DDS and DDDS on 4 and 1.
you need to spend a lot of time to find the best DDS and DDDS for you
it is not like Ultra-D or sli-DR motherboard