PDA

View Full Version : GF FX Volt Mod help needed



QuadDamage
03-09-2003, 10:37 PM
Hi,

a fellow FM member, Cygnus x1, who happens to have FX is willing to post some pics of it. I do not have FX yet, so you may directly ask him to post close-ups of particular v-controllers. I know there are only few peeps who have, so don't expect overwhelming response. let's give it a try, lol.

cygnus man, can you post a pic of the back of the card first? i know you have to rip your w/c off first...

cygnus_x_1
03-09-2003, 10:42 PM
here are some quick shots of the back of the board...i can get higher res pics as well, but didnt want to get them till we know better what we are looking at.

cygnus_x_1
03-09-2003, 10:43 PM
another...

cygnus_x_1
03-09-2003, 10:44 PM
last one for now...

VoraciousGorak
03-09-2003, 10:44 PM
Since I'm thinking about getting an FX5800 Ultra myself, I might as well tag along and join you dudes in here.

EDIT: For those of you who don't know me, I'm also from MO/FM.

QuadDamage
03-09-2003, 10:48 PM
ok, nice. i'll look for datasheets later... doesn't look like typical v-controllers used on GF3/4 though... later, if you can, place the card horizontally and take few pics of the left/right sides of pcb.

cygnus_x_1
03-09-2003, 10:59 PM
k..here is the left...

cygnus_x_1
03-09-2003, 11:01 PM
and the right..
( i will host these on my site, i just wanted to get them up tonight) as soon as they're hosted, we can clean up the post...

QuadDamage
03-10-2003, 12:06 AM
ok, here is one from sonn-to-be released Gainward. hi-res:

http://www.modders.net/uploads/QuadDamage/gani2.jpg

sysfailur
03-10-2003, 12:14 AM
I'm sure once more people see this a solution will be found ;)

Btw, anyone notice how "holey" this graphics card is? Good lord!

QuadDamage
03-10-2003, 12:23 AM
good to see you here, sys:)

i know this is not exactly everything you need to "find solution", but there are only few with this board and only two of them are willing to participate:D it won't be easy, but i think you and DDTUNG, our v-modding master, could take a look at this...

btw, this is certainly the best place on this planet at least IMO:D

sysfailur
03-10-2003, 12:27 AM
@ QD : :wave:

Also before I head to bed... if anyone (cygnus) can scan the back of the card in @ like 300-600DPI on a scanner. That would help _ALOT_ ;)

QuadDamage
03-10-2003, 12:29 AM
you heard that, cygnus?:D. for the sake of humanity, do it:).

runmc
03-10-2003, 05:04 AM
Hey Quad,

Glad to see ya'll getting a jump on the FX.

I'm still working on my 9700 mods. I wonder if the 9800 will be much different?

I've got xtremesystems and FM bookmarked as favorites now..

This place is cool..

cygnus_x_1
03-10-2003, 06:02 AM
sorry...don't have acess to a scanner...the only thing i have is the finepix 3800...i will tkae some better hi-res pics tonight, and get them up...

sysfailur
03-10-2003, 11:51 AM
Originally posted by cygnus_x_1
sorry...don't have acess to a scanner...the only thing i have is the finepix 3800...i will tkae some better hi-res pics tonight, and get them up...

Alright thats ok. As long as the serial numbers on the chips are visible. That is the main concern.

Colin
03-10-2003, 11:53 AM
cygnus_x_1 what does that card overclock to by default?

badboy
03-10-2003, 04:43 PM
Originally posted by Colin
cygnus_x_1 what does that card overclock to by default?
Before I took off the stock cooling it would do 540/1107 and then I put watercooling on it and does 560/1107.

cygnus_x_1
03-10-2003, 09:33 PM
ok..took some better shots of the chips. lmk how they are. i have them hosted here (http://mywebpages.comcast.net/dannyyyz/gffx/)

hopefully self explanitory..there are two reference shots with the chips marked, then the closeups of the chips...

sysfailur
03-10-2003, 10:05 PM
Nice pics! Those will do nicely! :)

QuadDamage
03-10-2003, 10:27 PM
good to hear that. i just hope Gainward uses nVidia's reference v-controllers.

badboy:)

not bad o/c my friend. 60mhz+ on core without v-mods sounds good.
Does anyone know what's the default v-gpu? is it higher than 1.66v? i think 600mhz core shouldn't be a prob with vmod and better cooling.

pelikan
03-16-2003, 09:00 AM
600MHz core! Wow, the volt modded and water cooled FX is going to be a beast!

Reactivator11
04-04-2003, 05:20 AM
Wow
Theres everybody here.
Runmc, Badboy, Quad !
This is the coolest and mybe the only place where you can get vmod help !
Oppainter, just got his 9800 pro to 513/370.
I wonder if thats without vmods !
Well its frozen for sure !!

QuadDamage
04-05-2003, 05:50 AM
Oh finally XS is up again!:) Small update. I benched GFFX Ultra at 550/1200 using stock cooling w/o volt mods. That board would lock up at 530 core at first, but for some reason it became better clocker within 2 hours or so:D. It wasn't my board unfortunately, so no xtreme stuff:(

badboy has his PNY running at 582/1200 stable and scored 65++ in 3DMark03 using 43.45 drivers, good job badboy:) I'm sure your card would do 600 core+ if it were volt-modded.

badboy
04-05-2003, 07:09 PM
Well QuadDamage,
I did manage to get 587/1200 and got 6642 points.:D Maybe I should slap this in my P4 2.8ghz and run it 3.4ghz+ and see what I get. I will try that later in the week.;) Here is my score if you haven't seen it yet.
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=546197

cygnus_x_1
04-05-2003, 07:38 PM
thats awesome...i just switched the gffx into my main rig and replaced th 9700 to play with it...still have the default cooler on it, but going to h20, or prolly tec it (working on the tec case now)

its running @ 550/1100. still tryin to see where it craps out before bringing the system back up to full oc levels...

badboy, i know your watercooling on the gpu, do you have any sinks on the mem?

Charles Wirth
04-05-2003, 09:37 PM
Im rolling up fast on Badboy and soon to pass, Second place is not good enough.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=559049

soon to change, just noticed my memory clock didnt take effect. after checking compares.

Charles Wirth
04-06-2003, 12:27 AM
bah, 2 points away

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=559745

Trying again...

QuadDamage
04-06-2003, 06:47 AM
hehe, nice FUGGER:D.

btw, i'm still wondering what volt-mod could get you:D

Charles Wirth
04-06-2003, 02:11 PM
Definitly 600+ on the core with vold mod.

I was running some benchies in the 590's last night and I get hard lock on frames for a few seconds and the bench will continue screwing up the score.

When I pushed the ram into 1180ish blocks drop out like typical artifacting with overclocked memory. I had the memory down to 8c.

Now stepping back to 3Dmark 2001 I was pulling off runs @ 598/1180 but I could not beat my current score even with nature runs @ 152+ FPS

I will be switching around hardware this week going back to GB.

badboy
04-06-2003, 03:51 PM
What kind of cooling are you using I may ask?

Charles Wirth
04-06-2003, 08:54 PM
Prometiea on the CPU
MC50T on the GPU fed by seasoned deep freezer and half inch lines.

My GPU stays at 0c and the card hovers around 25c

berkut
04-27-2003, 01:51 AM
Hello guys :D

2 days ago ive finnaly got my GeForce FX 5800 (its the absolutely first in poland :D), made by prolink, it was bought as a non ultra... :D

To shorten a long story it had a fabric malfunction, mainly there was almost no heat paste between the VPU's core and its IHS and the card heated up to 90C @ 400mhz and 130C @ 500mhz... So now the card runs "bare core", its scalped :D

When ive removed the radiator i saw that ive got a ultra core and i was very happy :D Yesterday ie removed the ramsinks and ive got also some ultra mems ;]

And know for the overclocking: ive putted a Volcano 7+ (in the meantime im making a phase change chiller/pelt chiller for it) and the core overclocks to 590mhz but the mems go to only ~1ghz... I think its about the ram timings...

Ive also noticed that there is a 2 phase power suplly near the molex connector and the voltages over there are 1.25V, the VPU is produced in 0.13mik so i think its the core voltage- could you guys check the voltages over there ?