PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking Guide?

Mr.X
06-21-2006, 05:02 AM
Hi,

I'm a beginner when it comes to CPU overcloking and I would really appreciate it if you could point me to a step-by-step overclocking guide that isn't too old.

I'm going to build a new pc soon and I'm planning do get a Core 2 Extreme CPU at the end of the year. Until then I'll probably buy a Pentium D 805 and overclock it as far as it goes. I'm only waiting for a Core 2 Duo/SLI ready Motherboard to procceed with my purchase so that i won't need to get a new one when I upgrade again.

Also, I would like to know the limits of the 805 and If I should buy a cooling system to get it to run stable or if I should just stick with it's stock cooling.

Future Specs:
CPU: Pentium D 805 /Core 2 Extreme later on
RAM: OCZ 2GB Kit DDR2 800Mhz Platinum (4-5-4-15)
GPU: GF 7950 GX2
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W

Help a rookie out! :wave:

Bail_w
06-21-2006, 05:13 AM
PLease use the "search" button next time.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57148

Mr.X
06-21-2006, 05:22 AM
Sorry my bad. Could anyone tell me how much can the D 805 be overclocked? What's it's limits?
EDIT: That guide seems a bit outdated.

SoF
06-21-2006, 06:29 AM
again: use the search button there's enough about "how to..." here...
additional: wrong section, you may ask such staph in the intel section but here's a place for posting xtreme overclocking results.
Sorry if it sounds a bit harsh but it really gets me anytime I see such questions here in xtreme overclocking section...

andyisc00l
06-21-2006, 09:24 PM
Sorry my bad. Could anyone tell me how much can the D 805 be overclocked? What's it's limits?
EDIT: That guide seems a bit outdated.