PDA

View Full Version : Raid 0 number of drives?



cronic
06-14-2006, 08:26 PM
Ok I can't seem to find a definite answer to this question. Do you have to run even numbers of drives with raid 0? I have run 2 36gig raptors for years, but would like to run four. However, until I get the forth drive can I run three. Everything I seem to see always shows 2 or 4 drives, but I just wonder if an odd number is possible.

Weedsqueezer
06-14-2006, 08:31 PM
sure it is, I run 3, 9 gig scsi in raid 0!

RyderOCZ
06-14-2006, 08:43 PM
No there is nothing that says they have to be even numbers, I have run as many as 12 drives in Raid 0....I am unsure of the physical limit of the protocol, but there probably is one.

cronic
06-14-2006, 08:50 PM
No there is nothing that says they have to be even numbers, I have run as many as 12 drives in Raid 0....I am unsure of the physical limit of the protocol, but there probably is one.


ok cool. thanks for the replies.

Serra
06-14-2006, 08:58 PM
No there is nothing that says they have to be even numbers, I have run as many as 12 drives in Raid 0....I am unsure of the physical limit of the protocol, but there probably is one.

I'm pretty sure you reach physical limits to RAID 0 before you reach logically-imposed limits. By that point, you've also pretty well lost your mind though because you're running at least 16 drives in RAID 0 and just assuming that none will ever fail...

RyderOCZ
06-14-2006, 09:13 PM
By that point, you've also pretty well lost your mind though because you're running at least 16 drives in RAID 0 and just assuming that none will ever fail...Agreed, however all data was backed up to tape daily...I was after all out speed :)

Cooper
06-14-2006, 09:50 PM
No there is nothing that says they have to be even numbers, I have run as many as 12 drives in Raid 0....I am unsure of the physical limit of the protocol, but there probably is one.

12 drives in RAID0 :eek:

Can we see some tests from this setup ? :)

Vric
06-15-2006, 05:55 AM
having 12 drives, I would do a Raid5 and definitely not a Raid0... 12 drive in the same time with no redundancy, you push your luck :p:

uOpt
06-15-2006, 05:56 AM
Ok I can't seem to find a definite answer to this question. Do you have to run even numbers of drives with raid 0? I have run 2 36gig raptors for years, but would like to run four. However, until I get the forth drive can I run three. Everything I seem to see always shows 2 or 4 drives, but I just wonder if an odd number is possible.

Any number allowed.

As for raid-1, BTW, many people don't know that. If you want a real redundant system, but up two drives in your PC and hook one USB drive on a different PSU up.

Steensen
06-15-2006, 03:51 PM
Any number of disks can run RAID 0, as long as it's 2 drives or above.
RAID 3/5 needs at least 3 drives
RAID 6/10/0+1 at least 4 drives
RAID 30/50 at least 6 drives.